2021 Meeting and Event Calendar

 

All meetings through January 27, 2022 will be held on Zoom. 

It is anticipated that print competitions will be held at the church beginning in February.   

  Zoom invitations will be sent to all active members prior to the Zoom meetings. 

New members are always welcome!

If you would like a courtesy invitation to attend selected programs or competitions in order to learn more about us, please email club president Jim Voeglein (jvoeglein@gmail.com) to request a Zoom link. 

 

The health and safety of all meeting participants is a top priority.
The following COVID-19 requirements apply to all in person meetings at the church:

1. Masks must be worn

2. Attendees must be fully vaccinated for COVID-19 per the CDC definition of "fully" vaccinated

3. Proof of COVID-19 vaccination must be presented at the door

  

Date
Event
Information

Thursday, January 20

Digital Competition

Theme: Close-up/ Macro

Judge: Edwin Remsberg

Thursday, January 27

Program

Speaker: Liz Faust - “Exhibition Making: Connecting to Audiences with Photography”

In this presentation, we will be introduced to the field of curation, what goes into creating an exhibition, and how to develop proposals for public art exhibits, all of which will be through the lens of photography as a medium and how it fits into the larger art world structure.

Liz Faust is a Curator and Professor focusing on contemporary art that acts as a catalyst in its community and beyond. Her interests in radical contemporary art led to the curator position at Catalyst Contemporary Gallery and Full Circle Photography Gallery in Baltimore, where she welcomes both local and international artists who focus on storytelling and emotive connections. 

Faust teaches at both the Maryland Institute College of Art and the University of Maryland Baltimore County. 

She was also the open call winner of NYC's apexart exhibition proposal with her Elongated Shadows exhibition that was featured in Hyperallergic and e-flux.

Thursday, February 3

Print Competition

Theme: Open

Judge: Lynn Silverman

Thursday, February 10

Program

Speaker: Lewis Katz - “The Art of Seeing”

Thursday, February 17

Digital Competition

Theme: Open

Judge: Jennifer Bishop

Thursday, February 24

Program

Member Critique Night: One image per member. Upload image to Visual Pursuits/ “Member Programs – Critiques” Gallery/’Member Critique, February 24 Critique Gallery Upload Instructions

Thursday, March 3

Print Competition

Theme: Open

Judge:

Thursday, March 10

Program

Speaker: Janet Little Jeffers - “Frame of Mind”

Thursday, March 17

Digital Competition

Theme: Abstract

Judge: Steve Gottlieb

Thursday, March 24

Program

Speaker: Arthur Ransome - “Questions Not Answers”

Thursday, March 31

Print Competition

Theme: Open

Thursday, April 7

Program

 

Thursday, April 14

No Meeting

Easter Thursday

Thursday, April 21

Digital Competition

Theme: Open

 Judge: Jeanine L. Cummins

Thursday, April 28

Program

 

Thursday, May 5

Print Competition

Theme: Open

Judge:

Thursday, May 12

Program

 

Thursday, May 19

Digital Competition

Theme: Nature

Judge:

Thursday, May 26

Program

 

Thursday, June 2

Print Competition

 


This website is hosted by Visual Pursuits, a service provided by Software Pursuits, Inc.