2024 Meeting and Event Calendar

Meetings are in-person but also provided by Zoom for members that cannot be present.

New members are always welcome! 

If you would like a courtesy invitation to attend selected Zoom meetings in order to learn more about us, please email club president Diane Bovenkamp (d_bovenkamp@yahoo.com) to request a Zoom link. 

 

  

Date
Event
Information
 June   Summer Schedule starts: Meetings every other week
Saturday, June 22 Year-End Competition

 Closed to Members

Judges: Leo Howard Lubow, Michael B. Friedman, Christine Stutz

Thursday, June 27 Program Member Critique Night: One image per member. Upload image to Visual Pursuits/ “Member Programs – Critiques” Gallery/’Member Critique, June 27, Critique Gallery Upload Instructions
Thursday, July 11  Program Guy Alston: “Putting AI to Work for You”
Thursday, July 25  Program  Member Critique Night: One image per member. Upload image to Visual Pursuits/ “Member Programs – Critiques” Gallery/’Member Critique, July 11, Critique Gallery Upload Instructions
August 1 New Club Year Starts Remember to Pay your dues
Thursday, August 8

 Program

(IN-PERSON ONLY)

 Leo Lubow: "What the Masters Can Teach Us"

Description: What makes a great photographer?  What makes a great photograph?  In this projector-driven presentation, Leo will show both his work and the work of such masters as Ralph Gibson, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Frank, Garry Winogrand, Diane Arbus, Arnold Newman, Ansel Adams, and Alfred Eisenstaedt as he explores the importance of finding your visual signature, and as he reviews capture and post-processing techniques/tips to aid in that process. Focusing on tone, form, point of view, metaphor, and helpful guidelines of composition, Leo will identify the elements that comprise a fine-art image, all toward one end: to help you refine both your eye and craft as you shape your own special vision.

Bio: Leo Howard Lubow is a writer, educator, and award-winning photographer who specializes in portraits, headshots, commercial & promotional images, and street & fine art images. He teaches photography one-on-one and in association with educational organizations such as Johns Hopkins University (The Odyssey Program).  His work (articles & images) has appeared in various publications and media, including Simon & Schuster, The Huffington Post, Good Morning America, Downbeat Magazine, Jazziz Magazine, The Luminous Landscape, The Baltimore Sun, NBC Sports, NPR.org, Baltimore Magazine, Style Magazine and American Dog Magazine.  Lubow has also photographed pro-bono over 250 billboards/posters for the Show Your Soft Side Campaign, an anti-animal abuse effort that enjoys a world-wide audience. 

In his personal work, Lubow’s interest lies in the individual or lone traveler, separated from the mainstream of life, whether it be a musician lost in the music, a sailboat racing a storm, a street artist with no audience, or a displaced person sleeping beneath a billboard of vampires.  In short, he looks for emotional resonance in the isolated moment.  Lubow lives in Owings Mills, Maryland with his wife, Annette, and their two dogs, one of whom is very bad.

Website: https://www.lubowphotography.com/

Thursday, August 22  Program Member Critique Night: One image per member. Upload image to Visual Pursuits/ “Member Programs – Critiques” Gallery/’Member Critique, Aug. 22, Critique Gallery Upload Instructions
Thursday, September 5 Welcome Back Night Presentation of the best images for 2023-2024 will take place. Join in on congratulating those who win trophies and those who win medals.
Thursday, September 12
Competition Digital Competition
Thursday, September 19  Program  Burke Seim: Service Photo
Thursday, September 26

Competition 
In-Person Only

Print Competition
Thursday, October 3

 

 Program  Connie Imboden: 50-Year Retrospective
Thursday, October 10  Competition Digital Competition
Thursday, October 17  Program  
Thursday, October 24 Competition
In-Person Only
Print Competition
Thursday, October 31  Program Member Critique Night: One image per member. Upload image to Visual Pursuits/ “Member Programs – Critiques” Gallery/’Member Critique, Aug 22, Critique Gallery Upload Instructions
Thursday, November 7  Competition  Digital Competition
Thursday, November 14  Program  
Thursday, November 21  No Meeting  
Thursday, November 28 Competition 
In-Person Only
 Print Competition
Thursday, December 5  Competition Digital Competition
Thursday, December 12
Holiday Party  
Thursday, December 19
 No Meeting  
Thursday, December 26
 No Meeting  
 2025    
Thursday, January 2  Program Member Critique Night: One image per member. Upload image to Visual Pursuits/ “Member Programs – Critiques” Gallery/’Member Critique, Aug 22, Critique Gallery Upload Instructions
Thursday, January 9 Competition 
In-Person Only
 Print Competition
Thursday, January 16  Program  
Thursday, January 23 Competition  Digital Competition
Thursday, January 30  Program  
Thursday, February 6 Competition 
In-Person Only
 Print Competition
Thursday, February 13  Program  
Thursday, February 20  Competition Digital Competition
Thursday, February 27  Program  
Thursday, March 6 Competition 
In-Person Only
 Print Competition
Thursday, March 13  Program  
Thursday, March 20   Competition Digital Competition
Thursday, March 27  Program  
Thursday, April 3 Competition 
In-Person Only
 Print Competition
Thursday, April 10  Program  
Thursday, April 17  No Meeting  
Thursday, April 24  Competition Digital Competition
Thursday, May 1  Program  
Thursday, May 8 Competition 
In-Person Only
 Print Competition
Thursday, May 15  Program  
Thursday, May 22  Competition Digital Competition
Thursday, May 29  Program  
 June   Summer Session Begins – Meetings Every Other Week
Saturday, June 5  Competition  End-of-Year Competition - Closed to Members
Thursday, June 12 Feedback Night Come share your feedback on making BCC better. Refreshments served.
Thursday, June 26  Program  
Thursday, Jul 10  Program  
Thursday, Jul 24  Program  
 Aug 1 New Club Year  Remember to pay your dues
Thursday, Aug 7  Program  
Thursday, Aug 21  Program  
Thursday, Sept 4 Welcome Back Night Presentation of the best images for 2024-2025 will take place. Join in on congratulating those who win trophies and those who win medals.


This website is hosted by Visual Pursuits, a service provided by Software Pursuits, Inc.